FR | EN

Hannah Ma

Hannah Ma

hannah ma choregrapheHannah Ma is a German-Chinese choreographer. Her focus lies on contemporary rituals and the translation of archaic roots within our society. She was educated at the Conservatory in Vienna and the John-Cranko School, Stuttgart and the University of Hagen (GER).

Hannah was a scholarship student at Kirov Ballet/ St. Petersburg and Hong Kong Ballet. She won several ballet competitions such as: ÖTR- Contest in Vienna and the International Ballet Competitions in Györ, Hungary and Bologna, Italy.
She worked, amongst others, with Theatre Freiburg(GER), Museumsquatier (A), Theatre Trier (DE) and the Expo in Shanghai (CHN). Hannah worked as a freelance dancer all over the world.
Since founding hannahmadance ( DE, 2014) and HAN SúN
Gathering (LU, 2015) her productions were invited and co-produced by: Theatre National Luxembourg, (2015/ 2017), Theatre d´Esch, Luxemburg (2017), Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen / DE (2016), Festival Passages in Metz/ FR (2017), Theater Trier/ DE (2016/2017), German Consulat General/ N.Y. (2016), Arpmuseum am Rolandseck/DE ( 2016),Alter Schlachthof Eupen (BE), Trois C-L/LU (2015/2016).

As director of her company she was invited to APAP Conference 2017/ New York (work in progress showing WANDERER), to Swiss Dance Days, Geneva /CH 2017, National Arts Festival, Grahamstown /SA 2017 and Tanzplattform, Essen/ GER 2018.
Hannah won several awards as a dancer and choreographer such as the “Theatermaske” from Richard- Wagner association (DE), the “Brückenpreis Rhinland-Phalatinate“ (DE). She was nominated for the German “Engagementpreis“ in 2016. Her project H.E.R.O.E.S is currently evaluated as a best practice project by the UNESCO, Germany, 2017. Hannah was chosen for TalentLab at Les Theatres de la Ville/Grand Theatre Luxemburg (Jury: Koen Augustijnen/ Les ballets C de la B, José Montalvo/La Maison des Arts de Créteil / France, Peeping Tom, Compagnie de danse /Gabriele Carrizo and Franck Chartier / Belgique , Bernard Baumgarten/ TROIS C_L Centre de Création ChorégraphiqueLuxembourgeois, Tom Leick-Burns/ Théâtre de la Ville/ Luxembourg).

Hannah teaches the method “Speaking Body” an improvisation method she created from the base of contemporary and classical dance, yoga and acting methods.Hannah also studied cultural sciences with focus on philosophy.


Further information:

SWAN (2018)
WANDERER (2017)
UNDO (2017)
ARENA (2016)
Dieu/ Monstre (2015)
HEROES – for just one day (2015)
Nussknacker – Das Fest (2014)
Exist is the repeat of practice (2014)

hannahmadance.com
the-people-united.com
Page Vimeo

Photo WANDERER © Hannah Ma/ editing: Sebastian Purfürst, LEM- Studios

FR | EN

Artistes / Chorégraphes

Hannah Ma

hannah ma choregrapheChorégraphe germano-chinoise, Hannah Ma s’intéresse particulièrement aux rituels contemporains et à la traduction des racines archaïques au sein de notre société. Elle a fait ses études au Conservatoire de Vienne, à l’école John-Cranko de Stuttgart et à l’Université de Hagen (DE).

Hannah Ma a été étudiante boursière au Kirov Ballet/Saint-Pétersbourg et au Hong Kong Ballet. Elle a remporté plusieurs concours de ballet tels que : ÖTR – Concours à Vienne et les concours internationaux de ballet à Györ en Hongrie et Bologne en Italie.
Elle a travaillé, entre autres, avec le Théâtre Fribourg (DE), le Museumsquatier (AU), le Théâtre Trèves (DE) et l’Exposition universelle de Shanghai (CH). Hannah Ma a travaillé comme danseuse indépendante dans le monde entier.

Depuis la création de Hannahmadance en 2014 en Allemagne et de HAN SúN Gathering a.s.b.l. en 2015 au Grand-Duché du Luxembourg, deux structures portant ses projets artistiques, ses productions ont été invitées et coproduites par : le Théâtre National du Luxembourg (2015/2017), le Théâtre d’Esch-sur-Alzette (2017), Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen en Allemagne (2016), le Festival Passages à Metz (2017), Théâtre de Trèves (2016/2017), Consulat Général de la République fédérale d’Allemagne à New York (2016), Arpmuseum am Rolandseck en Allemagne (2016), Alter Schlachthof Eupen en Belgique et le TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois (2015/2016).

En tant que directrice de sa compagnie, elle a été invitée à la conférence APAP 2017 à New York (WANDERERER), aux Swiss Dance Days à Genève en 2017, au Festival National des Arts à Grahamstown en 2017 et à la Tanzplattform à Essen en 2018.

Hannah Ma a remporté plusieurs prix en tant que danseuse et chorégraphe comme, en Allemagne, le « Theatermaske » de l’association Richard-Wagner et le « Brückenpreis Rhénanie-Palatinat ». Elle a été nominée pour le prix allemand « Engagementpreis » en 2016. Son projet H.E.R.O.E.S est d’ailleurs reconnu pour ses pratiques par l’UNESCO. Hannah Ma a été choisie pour le TalentLab aux Théâtres de la Ville/Grand Théâtre Luxembourg (Jury : Koen Augustijnen/ Les ballets C de la B, José Montalvo/ La Maison des Arts de Créteil/France, Peeping Tom, Compagnie de danse/Gabriele Carrizo et Franck Chartier/Belgique, Bernard Baumgarten/TROIS C-L, Tom Leick-Burns/Théâtre de la Ville du Luxembourg).

Hannah Ma enseigne la méthode « Speaking Body » – une méthode d’improvisation qu’elle a créée à partir de la danse contemporaine et classique, du yoga et des exercices d’interprétation.


Plus d’informations :

SWAN (2018)
WANDERER (2017)
UNDO (2017)
ARENA (2016)
Dieu/Monstre (2015)
HEROES – for just one day (2015)
Nussknacker – Das Fest (2014)
Exist is the repeat of practice (2014)

hannahmadance.com
the-people-united.com
Page Vimeo


Photo : WANDERER © Hannah Ma / Editing: Sebastian Purfürst, LEM- Studios